Category: DEFAULT

2 Oct, 2012

Life In A Day - Simple Minds - Celebration (Cassette)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Simple Minds. Post-punk new wave. Retrieved on 31 January Retrieved 23 October IPC Media. Retrieved 9 January Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August Sunday 9 August Monday 10 August Tuesday 11 August Wednesday 12 August Thursday 13 August Friday 14 August Saturday 15 August Sunday 16 August There was a problem filtering reviews right now.

Please try again later. Verified Purchase. Way back when, we cogniscenti considered this to be one of the great fringe band premiere albums. Sneak a hair past the mildly dated sound and you'll find consistent strong songwriting all the way through this puppy. I remember it as being one of my fave LPs for several years and a lot of us back then were annoyed with the tip toward Top Forty that the band manifested. If you like "Love" and some early "Doors" and maybe some more recent bands contemporaneous with Simple Minds you'll find these guys cool and much more consistent songwriters.

Not bad for first album, the album that launched a 40 year music career. Style is quite different than current style or even the style from the 80s. Lots of psychedelic keyboard parts similar to the Doors.

Great to have an old favourite again. One person found this helpful. So many memories from high school. Great album, front to back. Turn it up loud and let the music do its thing. Pretty good for April ! The is Simple Minds first album. It comes from and the original is 43 minutes long. The remastered CD has two mostly worthless bonus tracks. This is your basic British New Wave sound from the late s and early s. As someone else mentioned, there is a bit of Roxie Music and David Bowie influence on it.

The song No Clue sounds like it could have come from a Roxie Music album. I think the most of the songs are just run of the mill New Wave and not all that exciting. There isn't anything horrible like there will be on the second album. There are four tracks that I really like, where they break away from the New Wave sound and move on to more Euro disco beat, similar to their third album, Empires and Dance.

I view Simple Minds to be like Yes or Supertramp However, in Simple Minds case, it was 4 albums. I'm not a big fan of the first two albums. I think the third, Empires and Dance is their best album. Sons and Fascination is also pretty good but came with a really bad bonus LP.

The band found its sound on the fifth album, New Gold Dream. As with all of Simple Minds' music pre-"Once Upon A Time" when, like most people, I became a fan I had come across this record on vinyl and had given it a few spins back in the late s and I didn't really like what I heard; it certainly wasn't what I expected neither was it something that made me want to explore this music more. By placing your order, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Learn more. Customer reviews. How does Amazon calculate star ratings? The model takes into account factors including the age of a rating, whether the ratings are from verified purchasers, and factors that establish reviewer trustworthiness. Top reviews Most recent Top reviews. There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later. Verified Purchase. This is one of my most favourite albums of all times.

I used to have all their albums on vinyl, but they've either been loaned out and never came back, been sneaked out my abode by untrustworthy people, or got lost in the multiple house moves I've gone through.

These guys were my friends at one time and that was through a group of my friends who played as support band for them back in the day, but I doubt they'd remember a wee soul like me after all these years.

Anyway Simple Minds have always been a fantastic band they truly ruled a group of people all over the world at one time and everyone who has been blown away with their sound remains faithful to this day.

So why are you waiting you should buy this music, in fact buy all their music and you won't be disappointed. One person found this helpful. Circa , my older brother and his mate went to Eric's in Liverpool to see Simple Minds, I think with about 40 other curious punters. His mate bought this album after that event and I taped it. I nearly wore the tape out and went on to be a devoted follower until after they issued New Gold Dream one of the best albums ever recorded.

The only drawback is the production which results in quite poor sound quality which detracts from these brilliant tracks. After New Gold Dream, they made it really big and I was very pleased for them, they deserved it. However, I thought they lost some magic and didn't really continue to support them although I did recently purchase their CD's from the Five Album Series which contained three post NGD albums.

I suppose my taste in music is a bit esoteric and I sometimes resent it when the masses jump on the bandwagon pardon the pun after a couple of mega hits.

Anyway, I really enjoyed listening to this again after so long and would highly recommend it.

"Life In A Day" was Simple Minds' debut album, originally released on Arista back in and reissued by Virgin Records in The lineup included Jim Kerr (vocals) Charlie Burchill (guitar) Derek Forbes (bass) Brian McGee (drums) and Michael MacNeil (keyboards)/5(27).

About : Nall

8 thoughts on “Life In A Day - Simple Minds - Celebration (Cassette)”

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Cassette release of Celebration on Discogs.
  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Cassette release of Life In A Day on Discogs. Label: Virgin - VMC 6 • Format: Cassette Album • Country: UK • Genre: Electronic • Style: Synth-pop. Simple Minds: Life In A Day 5/5(1).
  3. The cassette says the year of release is The insert says the year of release is and Mastered at Precision Lacquer. (P) Virgin Records Ltd/5(2).
  4. Life in a Day spent six weeks in the UK LP charts and reached number The title track was released on 12 May as Simple Minds' first single and reached No. 62 in the UK charts, spending two weeks there. However, the next single, "Chelsea Girl", failed to chart at flakowalabemununalarmelniggbal.co: Post-punk, new wave.
  5. Sep 14,  · Excellent compilation of the Simple Minds' earliest singles. Before "Promised You A Miracle", long before "Don't You Forget About Me" or "Alive & Kicking" I am pleasantly surprised by how kick-ass this early material is. More original and energetic sounding than /5(59).
  6. Life in a Day is the debut album by Simple Minds. It was produced by John Leckie and released by Arista in April , spending six weeks in the UK LP charts and reaching number The title track and “Chelsea Girl” were issued as singles.
  7. Celebration is a compilation album by Simple Minds, released in The compilation features tracks from the band's first three albums released during their tenure on the Arista Records label, prior to their move to Virgin Records in
  8. Celebration is a compilation album by Simple Minds, released in The compilation features tracks from the band’s tenure on the Arista Records label prior to their move to Virgin Records in Release Date: 1st February BUY FROM DISCOGS. TRACK LISTING. Life In A Day () Taken from the Album Life In A Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *